Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A Novel by Gabe Hudson

Fans of Harry Potter and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy will relish this teenage dragon’s spellbinding love story filled with bighearted humor and imagination.

Gork the Teenage Dragon
Gork isn’t like the other dragons at WarWings Military Academy. He has a gigantic heart, two-inch horns, and an occasional problem with fainting. His nickname is Weak Sauce and his Will to Power ranking is Snacklicious—the lowest in his class. But he is determined not to let any of this hold him back as he embarks on the most important mission of his life: tonight, on the eve of his high school graduation, he must ask a female dragon to be his queen. If she says yes, they'll go off to conquer a foreign planet together. If she says no, Gork becomes a slave.
Vying with Jocks, Nerds, Mutants, and Multi-Dimensioners to find his mate, Gork encounters an unforgettable cast of friends and foes, including Dr. Terrible, the mad scientist; Fribby, a robot dragon obsessed with death; and Metheldra, a healer specializing in acupuncture with swords. But finally it is Gork's biggest perceived weakness, his huge heart, that will guide him through his epic quest and help him reach his ultimate destination: planet Earth.
A love story, a fantasy, and a coming-of-age story, Gork the Teenage Dragon is a wildly comic, beautifully imagined, and deeply heartfelt debut novel that shows us just how human a dragon can be.

Gork, the Teenage Dragon is available for pre-order from the following booksellers:

Gork the Teenage Dragon Amazon Gork the Teenage Dragon Barnes and Noble Gork the Teenage Dragon Indiebound Gork the Teenage Dragon Penguin Random House

GOODREADS BOOK GIVEAWAY

Gork, the Teenage Dragon by Gabe Hudson

GORK, THE TEENAGE DRAGON

by Gabe Hudson

Giveaway runs March 16-24, 2017. See the giveaway details at Goodreads.
Enter Giveaway

Press & Reviews

“Gork, the Teenage Dragon combines so many things I count on in fiction I love—great expansive humor, a big-hearted optimism about all that’s possible in the world and in fiction, a very clear moral purpose and a sense of social responsibility—plus a willingness to experiment with the form of writing, to push the art of writing further, and with passion.”
—Dave Eggers, author of The Circle

An epic love story... This dragon Gork is a direct descendent of Huck Finn and Holden Caulfield, and his voice is a marvel of comic timing and pathos. Gork the Teenage Dragon is sure to become an instant classic, destined to be loved by all sorts of readers through the ages.”
—Akhil Sharma, author of Family Life

“Gork, the Teenage Dragon is jam-packed with outrageous storytelling and soulful humor in the glorious American tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Mark Twain. When I finished reading this book, I wiped a tear from my eye... Who knew a dragon’s coming-of-age story could be filled with so much humanity?”
—Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story

Events

To schedule an event, please contact Jordan Rodman at jrodman@penguinrandomhouse.com.

July 3, 2017

Appearing on the New Yorker Fiction Podcast, hosted by Deborah Treisman

July 21-22, 2017

Comic-Con, San Diego

Contact

PUBLISHER

For press inquiries, please contact Jordan Rodman at jrodman@penguinrandomhouse.com

AGENT

For all other inquires, please contact Susan Golomb at sgolomb@writershouse.com

NEWS

To sign up for news about Gabe Hudson, visit penguinrandomhouse.com

About Gabe Hudson



GABE HUDSON is the author of Dear Mr. President, a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award and winner of the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Hudson was named one of Granta's 20 Best of Young American Novelists and was a recipient of the Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University, the John Hawkes Prize in Fiction from Brown University, and the Adele Steiner Burleson Award in Fiction from the University of Texas at Austin. His writing has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Village Voice, McSweeney's, Black Book, and Granta. For many years, he was Editor-at-Large for McSweeney's. He lives in Brooklyn.

Other Work

(my story collection)